Labour’s Darren Jones wins in Bristol North West

(Above) Darren Jones makes his victory speech

Darren Jones has been returned as the Labour MP for Bristol North West with a greatly increased majority.

Mr Jones gained 15,669 votes more than the second-placed candidate, the Greens’ Mary Page, in the general election on July 4.

Six candidates contested the constituency, where boundary changes meant it lost Lockleaze but gained Bishopston & Ashley Down.

The Conservatives withdrew support from their candidate, Laura Saunders, midway through the campaign after it was revealed she and her husband were being investigated over election betting claims. 

After the result was announced, Mr Jones said he was proud to be continuing to represent the area where he grew up and where he has been MP since 2017.

“I have always worked hard to hold the powerful to account on behalf of the powerless, to tackle injustices wherever I find them, and to make the case that Britain can and must be better,” he said.

Mr Jones, who was Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury in the last Parliament, was expected to be given a post in Sir Keir Starmer’s cabinet.


Darren Jones (Lab) 24,058

Mary Page (Green) 8,389

Laura Saunders (Conservative) 6,773

Scarlett O’Connor (Reform UK) 4,863

Caroline Gooch (Lib Dem) 4,159

Ben Smith (SDP) 222